Patrick Schreiner

Tunes on Tuesday (Movie Scores)

In Best of, Movies on 01/13/2009 at 9:36 AM

My brothers make fun of me for having so many movie scores on my ipod.  I like listening to them while I study or read.  This is my list of the top movie scores.  I am limiting this list to calssical music.  There are a lot of good movie soundtracks (Garden State, Little Miss Sunshine, O Brother Where Art Thou etc..) but that is for another list.  I have not kept up with the movie scores in the past six months so this list may be a little dated.  Oh yeah and they are in no particular order.  They are all good, and it was too hard to put them in order.  Clearly I have some favorite composers.  Next week I will give my favorite Movie Score individual songs.

The Lord of the Rings:  Howard Shore

Gladiator: Hans Zimmer

Legends of the Fall: James Horner

Edward Scissorshands:  Danny Elfman

The Mission:  Ennio Morricone

Hook:  John Williams

A Beautiful Mind:  James Horner

Braveheart: James Horner

Pirates of the Caribbean:  Hans Zimmer

d5b9c060ada09f355b5ab110l2

Glory: James Horner

Notable Mentions:

The Last Samurai:  Hans Zimmer

Pan’s Labyrinth:  Javier Navarette

Chariots of Fire:

  1. [...] I first started blogging I listed my Top 10 Movie Scores (they have not changed mainly b/c I have not bought any [...]

  2. By the way, I bought the Social Network soundtrack recently and it blew my mind. Great music by Trent Reznor.

  3. I listened to a couple of the tracks and I have been meaning to buy it…you have pushed me over the edge…my wife will not be happy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

