Patrick Schreiner

My Top 5 Albums of 2009

In Best of on 02/03/2010 at 7:46 PM

I know this is a little late but here are my top 5 albums of 2009.

1.  Mumford & Sons:  Sigh No More / they combine bluegrass with rock to produce an amazing sound…it always builds into an emotional frenzy and the lyrics are brilliant  (First song to listen to:  The Cave)

2.  The Avett Brothers:  I and Love and You / piano and banjo ballads…can’t go wrong here  (First song:  I and Love and You)

3.  Regina Spektor:  Far / a russian-american who always has a knack for writing songs that make you laugh, and then stop and think  (First song:  Eet)

4.  Phoenix:  Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix / as itunes describes it: carefree, buoyant pop, full of snapping tom drums, percolating guitars, and melodic hooks  (First song:  1901)

5.  Animal Collective:  Merriweather Post Pavilion / never thought this one would be on the top 5 but their strange sound grows on you…beach boys influenced vocals and some techno ambient sounds create a unique experience.  (First song to listen to:  My Girls)

Noteable:  The Low Anthem (can’t put it on there because I have not bought it yet) and Muse: The Resistance

  1. [...] would be hard for me to label these as the “best” albums of 2010 (see list from 2009) because what I constitute best might not even come close to your definition of best.  With that [...]

  2. [...] enjoyed this year. It is also interesting to go back and see what my previous lists were (2010, 2009). Some of the albums have lasted the test of time, and I still turn to them for good music, others [...]

  3. [...] have put together a list of my favorite albums each year I have blogged (2009, 10, 11). This is one of my favorite times of year to read blogs. The “best of” lists [...]

  4. […] year I sit down and compile my favorite albums of the year (09, 10, 11, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

