Patrick Schreiner

Seminary Advice pt. 1

In Theology on 05/06/2011 at 8:14 AM

Yesterday, I opened the door and walked out of Norton 208. It was my last MDiv class at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. A strange feeling came over me, especially since my first class had been in the same room with the same teacher. As I finish I wanted to write down general advice for those just starting or thinking about starting Seminary where ever it may be. I realize my advice will be somewhat specific to my situation. I went to a particular school, had particular interests, and enjoyed particular classes, and was in a particular degree program. But I still hope that this will be of some value. Also not all will agree with my advice so let me know what you think.

First, take the hardest classes you can find. 

I am convinced that you can go walk out of Seminary with a completely different education than your classmate sitting right next to you. I realize that hard does not necessarily translate into learning, however generally the teachers who push you, you will learn from the most. Therefore, when you are in the halls, and you hear someone say, “Don’t take blankety blank, it is way too much work,” mark that on your list of classes you must have.

Get the most out of your education. Don’t coast. It would be like going to an amusement park and getting on the Ferris Wheel while the line is wide open to the roller coaster Magnum XL-200. This is a particular time in life where you get to sit under scholars who are there to help you lay the foundation for the rest of your life. So don’t take it easy on yourself. After the ride is over, you will be look back on those who are still on the Ferris Wheel and be glad you stepped out of line.

  1. Patrick,

    Congrats man! I am glad to hear it.

    Pretty good advice so far on seminary: keep it coming.

    Where to next for you and your familia?

    GW

  2. Well I am taking a semester off and then applying to Southern again in the Spring for PhD. I also got into Westminster for PHD but I am deferring for one year. Therefore I will be in Louisville at least one more year, maybe more. It is good to read your updates.

  3. [...] Take the hardest classes. [...]

  4. Hi Patrick,

    Thank you so much for sharing your advice on seminary school. I have been thinking about enrolling.

    Also, if you end up going to Westminster, I would love to buy you lunch. I live about 15 mins from there.

  5. [...] Take the hardest classes. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

